Thai Pavillion, Mumbai

Thai Pavilion
Taj President Cuffe Parade
Colaba
400005
Tel.No.:56650996

Well, what can I say; it was an eventful Sunday. After lunch at Ling’s, we were invited to dinner at Thai Pavillion. We’d been thinking of going there for a while and finally the best kind of opportunity came up!

The ambience as with most Taj restaurants is quite nice. Tables could have been a little further apart, but Mumbai catches up even with the Taj I presume. The wine collection seemed quite large, but I never quite got into it this time. For drinks, my wife stuck with the Caipirojka which was reasonably good. My friend and I decided to take on the Martinis. I started with the Pepper Martini, which I quite liked and followed it up with the ginger martini which I also thought was excellent. My friend quite enjoyed his pomegranate martini but his subsequent choices of the lychee and purple martinis fell quit flat.

For starters, we ordered the papaya salad which had a bit too much dressing and was a little too sour. The vegetable souffle between fried lotus roots was average at best. My friend ordered a fish starter, which he didn’t seem too impressed with.

The main course however was in stark contrast. My friend ordered a fried fish dish (the server mentioned it was Chilean but also Thai and would taste different from anything he had had before). My friend summed that  dish up by calling it “spectacular”. The pad thai was good, probably a bit more lime than some would enjoy, but certainly the way i enjoy it. The red curry vegetables (we stuck to the basics to try and assess the place) were excellent. The curry was fresh and had the tastes of fresh galangal and lemon grass. Too bad they serve things to you with basmati instead of sicky rice. I am not sure if this is a crowd pleasing move.

For dessert, we shared the creme brulee which was nice. The piece of sweet bread served with it was a little better than cardboard. We also had the macron stuffed chocolate balls where the central cream was flavoured with lemon grass an interesting flavour which just about managed to hold up to itself.

I am not sure how much this set us back, but drinks were about Rs. 450 each, main courses and appetizers similar so I am sure we headed well above Rs. 5000/- for the three of us.

Overall:

Ambience: ****

Drinks: ***

Food: ***1/2

Price: *****

Overall: ***

Final word: Make sure someone else is getting the tab!

Leave a comment